Our research

Our academic staff are at the forefront of global thinking on issues relating to wealth and wellbeing, strong organisations, transformative innovation, and the

Student resources

Information about program and course selection, enrolment, change of program, variation to enrolment, status and other general matters.


Our alumni may be found in the world’s leading companies, policy agencies and universities.

Contact us

Find contact details for any general enquiries.

Staff directory

Simon Grant

Research School of Economics

Position: John C. Harsanyi Chair of Economics
Email: simon.grant@anu.edu.au
Phone: +61 2 612 58688
Office: Room 2011, HW Arndt Bld (25A)
CV: CV (.PDF, 39KB)

 Simon Grant


Professor Simon Grant joined the Research School of Economics in December 2014, where he is the John C. Harsanyi Chair of Economics. He completed his PhD in Economics at Harvard University in 1991.  He was an undergraduate at ANU, graduating in 1986 with a Bachelor of Science and Bachelor of Economics (First Class Honours) and was awarded a University Medal in Economics.

This is his second tenure at ANU.  He has held positions at The University of Melbourne, The University of Tilburg in the Netherlands, and Rice University in Houston, Texas as well as visiting positions at The New Economic School, Moscow, Yale University, New Haven and Johns Hopkins University, Baltimore.  Professor Grant is an Elected Fellow of: the Econometric Society; ​the Australian Academy of Social Sciences; and The Society for the Advancement of Economic Theory.


  • Economics

Updated:   1 March 2017 / Responsible Officer:  CBE Communications and Outreach / Page Contact:  College Web Team