Study with us

Our graduates gain the knowledge and skills to lead organisations, develop public policy, create new companies and undertake research.

Our research

Our academic staff are at the forefront of global thinking on issues relating to wealth and wellbeing, strong organisations, transformative innovation, and the

Student resources

Information about program and course selection, enrolment, change of program, variation to enrolment, status and other general matters.


Our alumni may be found in the world’s leading companies, policy agencies and universities.

Contact us

Find contact details for any general enquiries.

Professor Alison Booth is presented with the ESA Distinguished Fellow award by Dr Matthew Butlin. Photo courtesy of the Economics Society of Australia

Professor Alison Booth is presented with the ESA Distinguished Fellow award by Dr Matthew Butlin. Photo courtesy of the Economics Society of Australia

Alison Booth named ESA Distinguished Fellow

26 July 2017

Last week Professor Alison Booth of the Research School of Economics received the Australian Economic Society (ESA) Distinguished Fellow Award in recognition of her contribution to the development of economics.

Alison is a world leader in labour economics research, in particular in the area of trade unions, on-the-job training and the role of part-time work as a stepping stone to the permanent labour market. She is in the top one per cent of all economists cited in the main index, REPEC, and is likely the most highly cited female Australian social scientist in history.

Alison Booth ESA Distinguished Fellow Award

Most recently Alison has been engaging in experimental economics in an attempt to understand gender differences toward risk and competition, and how this helps in an understanding of the disparate education and labour market outcomes of men and women.

She was a founding member of the ANU Research School of Economics, leading the Economics Program of the Research School of Social Sciences when it merged with the Department of Economics, Department of Economic History, and Econometrics.

Alison is a Fellow of the Academy of Social Sciences in Australia, and a Research Fellow of the Centre for Economic Policy Research (CEPR), London and of the IZA Bonn. She was Editor-in-Chief of Labour Economics from 1999 – 2004, and her book, The Economics of the Trade Union was one of Princeton University’s Economics Books of the Year in 1996.

“I congratulate Alison on receiving this prestigious award for her lifetime contribution to Economics. She is one of Australia’s leading economists, and has been integral to the economics program at ANU,” said Professor Steven Roberts, interim Dean of the ANU College of Business and Economics (CBE).

Professor Rabee Tourky, Director of the ANU Research School of Economics said the honour is highly deserved. “The ESA Distinguished Fellow Award is the most prestigious scholarly award for Economics in Australia. I warmly congratulate Alison on receiving this award,” he said.

Alison has been a key player in the changing role of women in economics, having been heavily involved in the ESA’s Women in Economics Retreat as a speaker and mentor, and following on from this, the establishment of the Women in Economics Network.

The award was announced at the Australian Conference of Economists dinner in Sydney, and was presented by Dr Matthew Butlin, President of the ESA. Dr Butlin commented that he greatly appreciates Alison’s contribution to the success of the Women in Economics Network, and noted that as a result of the efforts of Dr Danielle Wood and her team, and with Alison’s support, the ESA has attracted over 200 new female members over the past six months. 

In her acceptance speech Professor Booth said she was particularly delighted to receive this award at a time when women’s contribution to economics was being increasingly recognised.

The Australian Economic Society (ESA) Distinguished Fellow award was first given to Trevor Swan, who was the foundation Professor of Economics at ANU. Currently the ANU has more recipients of this award than any other university, with other recipients being Emeritus Professor Bob Gregory (2001), Emeritus Professor John Pitchford (2012) and Professor Bruce Chapman (2015).

Updated:   26 July 2017 / Responsible Officer:  Dean, Business & Economics / Page Contact:  College Web Team