Our research

Our academic staff are at the forefront of global thinking on issues relating to wealth and wellbeing, strong organisations, transformative innovation, and the

Student resources

Information about program and course selection, enrolment, change of program, variation to enrolment, status and other general matters.


Our alumni may be found in the world’s leading companies, policy agencies and universities.

Contact us

Find contact details for any general enquiries.

Economics Professor Elected to the Academy of the Social Sciences in Australia

Economics Professor Elected to the ASSA

22 September 2016

The Academy of the Social Sciences in Australia (ASSA) has announced that Trevor Swan Chair and Director of the Research School of Economics at the ANU College of Business and Economics (CBE), Professor Rabee Tourky, will be installed as Fellow at the Academy’s Annual Symposium and General Meeting on 7-9 November.

Professor Tourky was elected in recognition by the Academy as having built a distinguished research career in one or more social science disciplines in Australia.

One of Australia’s top theoretical economists, Professor Tourky has been critical to CBE’s mission in Education and Research.

Over the last three years, Professor Tourky’s contribution to economics at CBE continues the long, and distinguished tradition of economics at the ANU.

This honour follows on from his 2015 election as an economic theory Fellow of the Society for Advancement of Economic Theory for his contributions to theoretical economics.

Professor Steven Roberts, Director of the Research School of Finance Actuarial Studies and Statistics expressed his congratulations to Professor Tourky.

"We are lucky to have Rabee in this college. He is not only a great academic, his leadership in the Research School of Economics and the college have been pivotal over the past three years.”

Professor Tourky congratulated all of ANU's 2016 elected Fellows of the Academy of the Social Sciences in Australia. 

"This is a wonderful achievement for ANU Economics. The social sciences have had a long, central and distinguished tradition at the Australian National University, and Economics, the foundational field of the Social Sciences, has held a pre-eminent role in this regard."

"I am certain that Economics at the ANU will continue its traditional role as a world leader and transformative innovator in both education and research."

Nine senior academics from three ANU colleges have been elected as Fellows of the Australian Academy of the Social Sciences in recognition of their significant contribution to social science globally.

ANU academics recognised for their distinguished research careers are: Professor Laura jane Smith, Dr Carolyn Strange, and Professor Melanie Nolan from the ANU College of Arts and Social Sciences, Professor David Stern, Dr Philip Taylor, Professor Jenny Corbett, Professor Nicholas Evans and Honorary Professor Fiona Haines from the ANU College of Asia and the Pacific, and Professor Rabee Tourky from the ANU College of Business and Economics.

The nine ANU Fellows are amongst 39 new Fellows of the Academy who will be installed at the Academy's annual symposium and general meeting 7-9 November.

Updated:   2 March 2017 / Responsible Officer:  CBE Communications and Outreach / Page Contact:  College Web Team